Fantastic Voyage

Zulu - Original Score - (Black Vinyl) - Limited Edition - John Barry

Sale price Price £19.95 Regular price Unit price  per 

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Originally released in 1964, Zulu is among the most popular of John BarryÕs early soundtracks, and the main theme is still frequently heard on radio, conjuring up images of the British armyÕs courageous defence of (and the ZulusÕ equally fearless assault on) RorkeÕs Drift during the Anglo-Zulu War of 1879, as depicted in Cy EndfieldÕs memorable film.
John Barry (1933-2011) was one of the best known composers of film music in the world. His early career found him working as in-house arranger for EMI, leader of hit instrumental combo the John Barry Seven, and composer, arranger and conductor on the first UK soundtrack album (the Adam Faith vehicle Beat Girl). After BarryÕs involvement as arranger on the first James Bond film Dr No in 1962, he was appointed as primary composer for the film franchise. In 2002 he received the GoldenEye award, courtesy of the Ian Fleming Foundation.
The BAFTA-nominated Zulu (1964) was directed by Cy Endfield with a cast including Stanley Baker, Michael Caine and Jack Hawkins. Originally released in 1964 on the British indie label Ember, the LP comprises soundtrack music (with two of the tracks incorporating narration by Richard Burton), followed by ÒA Selection of Zulu StampsÓ, which are essentially beat instrumentals flavoured with southern African influences, performed by the John Barry Seven.
Ember initially pressed the album in mono, switching to stereo for a 1972 reissue (same catalogue number), although a stereo pressing had previously surfaced in the USA. Long unavailable on vinyl, Zulu is now reissued by Fantastic Voyage as a 180g pressing, mastered from original stereo tapes. The vinyl is housed in the original Ember sleeve artwork, and bears the label design prevalent at the time of the stereo pressing.
John Barry went on to score many notable soundtracks, including the award-winning Born Free, The Lion In Winter, Midnight Cowboy, The Cotton Club, Out Of Africa and Dances With Wolves. In 1999 Barry was appointed OBE for services to music.
Track Listing


Main Title Theme - Isandhlwana, 1879 (with Richard Burton)
News Of The Massacre - Rorke's Drift Threatened
Wagons Over
First Zulu Appearance And Assault
Durnford's Horse Arrive And Depart - The Third Assault
Zulus' Final Appearance And Salute
The VC Roll And Men Of Harlech (with Richard Burton)


Stamp And Shake
High Grass
Zulu Stamp
Big Shield
Zulu Maid
Monkey Feathers