Walkabout - Complete Score - (Black Vinyl) - Limited 1000 Copies - John Barry

Sale price Price £29.95 Regular price Unit price  per 

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
A lost paradise, a lost innocence, and a lost culture; these are the dominant themes presented in Nicolas RoegÕs 1971 masterpiece Walkabout, a survival story of two children lost in the scorched Australian wilderness. Together with other seminal Australian surrealistic outback films, (e.g. Wake In Fright) Walkabout was a film that reshaped the Australian film industry and defined the countryÕs New Wave.
On the cusp of the filmÕs 45th anniversary it is pertinent to observe that for decades the filmÕs original soundtrack has also been considered lost.
Composed and conducted by the acclaimed British film composer John Barry, the score is a hallucinogenic mix of exotic romanticism, childrenÕs nursery rhyme and potent psychedelic experimentation.
For decades, the consensus among soundtrack circles was that the master tapes were officially missing with little chance that the music would ever see a legitimate release, but The Roundtable is pleased to announce that this is no longer the case.
The complete soundtrack to one of cinema historyÕs most visually spellbinding films has now finally been re-discovered, sourced from the original stereo master tapes and prepared to the guidelines of the original ill-fated 1970s LP release.
The Walkabout soundtrack is released in conjunction with the lost film music to Peter WeirÕs 1977 existential eco-horror The Last Wave, composed by Charles Wain.
  • The premiere soundtrack release to Nicolas Roeg√ïs 1971 New Wave Masterpiece.
  • Lost hallucinogenic score from acclaimed film composer John Barry.
  • Sourced from the original stereo master tapes.
  • Deluxe packaging including archival film stills and original press material.
  • 12 track 180g Limited Edition vinyl LP

Track Listing

1. Walkabout
2. The Children
3. Stranded
4. Survival Test
5. Electronic Dance
6. The Journey
7. The Three Of Us
8. Together At Sunset
9. Los Angeles
10. Night In The Outback
11. Professional Crumble
12. Back To Nature