Thunderball - Original Score - (Black Vinyl) - Limited Edition - John Barry

Sale price Price £22.95 Regular price Unit price  per 

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
James Bond goes under the sea to find his man, and composer John Barry obliges with an aquatically cool yet subtly powerful soundtrack. Barry made his first big mark with an equally wonderful backdrop to Bond's earlier From Russia With Love and Goldfinger adventures. It had been Barry's intent to give Shirley Bassey Ñ who'd scored big with ÒGoldfingerÓ Ñ a second go-around with a Bond movie song, but the producers' decision to change the song resulted in Tom Jones getting the title song, devised by Barry at the last moment. He lends the ÒThunderballÓ vocal theme a well-gauged mix of pelvic thrust and serious drama. The rest of the set Ñ including another update of the Ò007Ó theme and an instrumental take on what was originally to be the vocal feature, ÒMr. Kiss Kiss Bang BangÓ Ñ is all pure ingenuity and layered drama. To a lot of people, it was all a little too drenched in reverb and a little too much of the same music repeated; this may have been a result of the fact that Barry was so late finishing the score, that only music from the first half of the movie was represented on the soundtrack LP.

Track Listing

Side 1.

1. Thunderball
Vocals Ð Tom Jones
2. Chateau Flight
3. The Spa
4. Switching The Body
5. The Bomb
6. Cafe Martinique

Side 2.
1. Thunderball
2. Death Of Fiona
3. Bond Below Disco Volante
4. Search For Vulcan
5. 007
6. Mr. Kiss Kiss Bang Bang

¥ Composed By Ð Monty Norman
¥ Composed By, Arranged By, Conductor Ð John Barry
¥ Lyrics By Ð Don Black
¥ Written-By [Co-Written] Ð Leslie Bricusse