The Secret Of Nimh - Expanded Score - Limited Edition - Jerry Goldsmith

Sale price Price £24.95 Regular price Unit price  per 

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Expanded release of richly melodic, highly exciting Jerry Goldsmith soundtrack for popular Don Bluth animation film from Robert C. O'Brien novel "Mrs. Frisby And The Rats Of NIMH", with voices of Elizabeth Hartman, Dom DeLuise, Derek Jacobi, Hermione Baddeley, Peter Strauss, John Carradine. Original 1982 album offered generous 48-minute program featuring all of the major cues save one lengthy dramatic sequence entitled "At Your Service" and a few shorter bits. For some three decades, complete session elements have been lost and sadly remain as such. But exhaustive search did yield significant reward: Len Engel's actual first generation 1982 dbx-encoded album master plus 3 rolls of 1" and 1/2" multi-track tape offered complete album - and at last! - the previously unreleased "At Your Service". Three additional demo theme recordings featuring both Paul Williams and Sally Stevens were also present on masters. Jerry Goldsmith fashioned his music in epic-scale for large orchestra plus chorus with nods to classic styles of Debussy, Stravinsky as well as his own landmark Poltergeist. Resulting score offers magical moments, beautiful theme, awe-inspiring colors plus incredibly ferocious action music. Another big asset: several sequences are quite lengthy. Total score now runs 53 minutes. Ten additional minutes of demos bring CD up to 63 minutes. Courtesy MGM, Intrada re-mastered CD now offers nearly-complete program in dynamic stereo. Informative liner notes from Jeff Bond plus flipper-style cover artwork and interior package design by Joe Sikoryak add rich graphics to compliment Goldsmith's legendary score. Recorded May 4-7, 1982 at CTS Studios in London. Jerry Goldsmith conducts National Philharmonic Orchestra, Ambrosian Singers.
Track Listing
Composed and Conducted by JERRY GOLDSMITH
01. Main Title (3:15)
02. Allergic Reaction/Athletic Type (2:42)
03. Flying Dreams Ð Lullaby (Vocal: Sally Stevens) (3:18)
04. The Tractor (3:00)
05. The Sentry Reel/The Story Of NIMH (6:05)
06. At Your Service* (3:39)
07. Escape From NIMH/In Disguise (5:02)
08. Flying Dreams (Vocal: Paul Williams) (3:21)
09. Step Inside My House (4:43)
10. No Thanks (2:03)
11. Moving Day (8:00)
12. The House Raising (4:36)
13. Flying High/End Title (2:39)
     Total Score Time: 53:00
The Extras
14. Flying Dreams Ð End Title Demo (Vocal: Sally Stevens)* (3:15)
15. Flying Dreams Ð Demo (Vocal: Paul Wlliams)* (3:21)
16. Flying Dreams Ð Demo (Piano Duet)* (3:24)
      Total Extras Time: 10:09
*Previously Unreleased