The Last Castle – 2 x CD Expanded Score – Limited Edition – Jerry Goldsmith


2 in stock




Expanded and remastered Jerry Goldsmith soundtrack on 2 CDs! Dreamworks Pictures presents, Rod Lurie directs, Robert Redford, James Gandolfini, Mark Ruffalo, Clifton Collins Jr., Delroy Lindo star. A clash of wills, a test of strength… behind bars! Gandolfini is the military prison warden, Redford the new inmate with a twist: he’s also a decorated general, not accustomed to following but leading, now a fallen hero just doing his time. Before long his ideals put him in conflict with the warden’s and the other prisoners find themselves “pawns” in a giant chess game with their lives at stake. The chess metaphor (note the film’s title) anchors the increasingly dangerous game playing out between the two protagonists. An all-out battle looms ahead. Complex film had the misfortune of being completed just as the terrible events of September 11, 2001 took place. The impact affected the mood and outcome of the film itself with the American flag as a centerpiece. In fact, Jerry Goldsmith completed his score close to the terror attacks and named his primary theme, “September 11, 2001”. The incredibly moving, solemn minor-key theme plays typically on solo trumpet, scored by the composer for ace trumpeter Malcolm McNab, who contributes a personalized paragraph in the booklet notes specifically for this release. But the score offers much more: as conflicts build, Goldsmith increases the tension as well. War does come and Goldsmith attacks with his unique brand of ferocious, percussive action writing. New Intrada 2-CD set presents Goldsmith’s full score with numerous previously unreleased cues, all taken from the original 3-channel digital stereo session mixes, culminating in the lengthy, climactic “Battle For The Castle” (composed by Mark McKenzie), also being released for the first time. Here aggressive staccato rhythms and orchestral punctuation mark the violent confrontation. Still more action hits with Goldsmith’s “Hold Them” and “Taking Command”. No matter how intense or exciting the score should become, listeners will always find the ever-noble, ever-expressive sound of Malcolm McNab and his golden trumpet taking the spotlight. Several alternates also appear as well as three versions of the climactic “The Flag” sequence. CD 2 presents the classical music (which the warden sometimes listens to), conducted and/or supervised by Jerry Goldsmith as well as a remastered presentation of the original Decca album as prepared by Bruce Botnick. Kay Marshall designs dramatic package, Jeff Bond contributes notes, Mark McKenzie orchestrates, Bruce Botnick engineers, Jerry Goldsmith composes & conducts.
Track Listing
CD 1 – Complete Score
01. The Castle (1:39)
02. Irwin Arrives (2:12)
03. The Cell Block (1:00)
04. My Turn (1:02)
05. Rain (2:02)
06. The Rock Pile (4:58)
07. My Mission (Original) (1:41)
08. No Wall (0:53)
09. The Dog Tags (1:03)
10. Let’s Go Ladies (2:36)
11. The Salute (1:08)
12. Winter’s Report (0:42)
13. Full Alert (2:51)
14. Fading Away (1:16)
15. Military Justice (2:18)
16. The Count Down/Hold Them (4:07)
17. Taking Command (3:37)
18. Battle For The Castle (6:22)
19. Fall In (2:38)
20. The Flag (Revised No. 2) (7:00)
21. September 11, 2001 Theme From The Last Castle (2:41)
Total Score Time: 54:45
CD 2 – Classical Source Music –
Conducted/Supervised By Jerry Goldsmith
01. Symphony No. 40 In G Minor, K. 550 (1:00)
(Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart)(Movement II, Andante)
02. Piano Sonata In C Major, K. 545 (2:36)
(Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart)(Movement II, Andante)
03. Piano Sonata In B-Flat Major, K. 570 (0:49)
(Wolfgang Amadeus Mozart)(Movement III, Allegretto)
04. Goldberg Variations, BWV 988, Variation 3 (3:42)
(Johann Sebastian Bach)
05. Goldberg Variations, BWV 988, Variation 7 (Long) (2:41)
(Johann Sebastian Bach)
06. Goldberg Variations, BWV 988, Variation 7 (Short) (1:07)
(Johann Sebastian Bach)
Source Music Supervised By Jerry Goldsmith Time: 12:05
07. Concerto For Oboe, Violin,
Cello And Orchestra In D Major (Antonio Salieri) (Movement 1) (9:14)
Original Decca Soundtrack Album
08. The Castle (1:32)
09. Irwin Arrives (2:11)
10. The Rock Pile (4:58)
11. Get Behind The Mule (Performed By John Hammond) (5:51)
12. Let’s Go Ladies (3:35)
13. Full Alert (2:51)
14. Military Justice (3:17)
15. The Count Down (2:19)
16. Hold Them (1:48)
17. Taking Command (3:31)
18. The Flag (5:49)
19. September 11, 2001 – Theme From The Last Castle (2:40)
20. Chiseled In Stone (Performed by Dead Hall) (3:45)
Original Album Time: 43:06
CD 2 Total Time: 64:41

Additional information


Modified Item

Country/Region of Manufacture

Custom Bundle





Non-Domestic Product

Record Label

Release Year



, ,


Special Attributes

, ,

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More Info