The Aviator - Expanded Score - Dominic Frontiere

Sale price Price £26.95 Regular price Unit price  per 

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
First release of entire Dominic Frontiere soundtrack from George Miller aviation adventure with Christopher Reeve, Rosanna Arquette, Jack Warden, from book by Ernest K. Gann. Reeve (a pilot in real life) stars as vintage U.S. mail flyer who pilots treacherous route, crashes while transporting daughter of wealthy banker who owns fleet of planes. Surviving the elements, packs of deadly wolves and each other forms basis for old-fashioned tale. Frontiere anchors with stirring main theme in grand major-key manner. Idea literally soars. Receiving near-equal attention is gorgeous, broadly-phrased love theme in three parts: first is sunny major-key melody, second is contrasting minor-tinged melody, third is reprise of initial idea. Throughout, richly-harmonized main theme never strays, keeps score on course. Frontiere balances melodic portions with sizzling, percussive action material for variety of survival scenes, wolf attacks. Intrada CD is significant: both original 1985 LP release and subsequent, slightly expanded CD version oddly omitted numerous percussion parts, recorded in separate sessions, to key action cues. Intrada presentation not only presents complete mixes for the first time, but also features plethora of never-before-released cues from the film as well as several alternates - 75 minutes of music in all, courtesy MGM. Attractive booklet design by Joe Sikoryak features informative liner notes by Tim Greiving. Jack Hayes, Herbert Spencer orchestrate, Dominic Frontiere conducts Munich Symphony Orchestra.
Track Listing
01. The Crash/Main Title (4:16)
02. Tillie's Theme (2:02)
03. The Hangar (1:57)
04. Have A Good Flight (0:26)
05. Here We Go (3:55)
06. Sit With You (2:29)
07. The Crash No. 2 (3:35)
08. The Forest (4:35)
09. Real Prize (1:12)
10. Saw The Fire (3:42)
11. Air Terminal (1:56)
12. The Rabbit Hunt (1:19)
13. The Wolf Pack (Complete Mix) (1:07)
14. Stitch In Time (1:16)
15. Something To Eat (0:51)
16. Search Is On (1:21)
17. Take What You Need (Complete Mix) (1:55)
18. Tillie Falls (1:57)
19. Kid I'm Sorry/All Addicts (Revised) (2:43)
20. Go To Sleep (1:02)
21. That's Capital Peak (1:21)
22. Our Luck Is Changing (1:44)
23. Have To Pee (2:08)
24. I Belong To Some Place (1:07)
25. Locked Pistol (1:10)
26. Pole Wires/Old Man (Complete Mix) (5:00)
27. The Cabin (1:46)
28. End Titles - Long Version (3:22)
      Total Time: 1:01:57
The Extras
29. Coffee Donut (2:42)
30. "Poor Butterfly" (Raymond Hubbell-John Golden) (1:13)
31. All Addicts (2:09)
32. All Addicts (Alternate) (1:18)
33. Old Man (Vibes) (0:18)
34. Old Man - Part 2 Short Version (Complete Mix) (2:57)
35. End Titles - Short Version (2:28)
      Total Extras Time: 13:08