Summer & Smoke – Original Score – Elmer Bernstein


2 in stock



One of Tennessee Williams’ lesser known works, Summer And Smoke premiered on Broadway in October 1948 at the Music Box Theater, previously tested in Dallas. For some reason, the game failed to attract the same interest as its previous hits “” The Glass Menagerie “” and “” A Streetcar Named Desire “” and was wiped out after just 102 performances. His later revival in 1952 brought him renewed interest and evaluation, leading to a film version in 1961, with Elmer Bernstein hired to produce the soundtrack. As it was for Tennyson, Summer And Smoke has remained one of the few considered works by Bernstein, despite receiving a nomination for Best Music, Scoring of Dramatic or Comedy Film at this year’s Academy Awards.
Track Listing
Disc 1
1 Theme from ‘Summer and Smoke’
2 Two Lonely Women
3 Glorious Hill Waltz
4 Alma’s Dilemma
5 Rosa
6 A Stranger in the House
7 Summer Thoughts
8 Rosa’s Dance
9 John’s Patient
10 Degeneration
11 The Father’s Murder
12 Final Irony and Finale

Additional information

Weight 200 g


Special Attributes

, ,

Record Label

Release Year

Country/Region of Manufacture



This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More Info