Spacecamp - Complete Score - Limited Edition - John Williams

Sale price Price £49.95 Regular price Unit price  per 

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
A John Williams score that should never be out of print is back! Same contents as Intrada's previous release. (Owners of that CD need not apply.) Harry Winer film with Kate Capshaw, Tom Skerritt, Lea Thompson, Kelly Preston and very young Leaf (Joaquin) Phoenix sends team of student astronauts into space with disasters at every turn. Picture offers glimpse into real world of astronaut training program albeit exciting make-believe adventures take front and center. John Williams creates one of his most exhilarating scores of all time, aiming his large orchestra towards the awe and spectacle of discovery in outer space. Surging main theme in French horn launches, radiant fanfares, thrilling action, propulsive ideas all follow. Numerous perils are depicted with aggressive rhythms in busy brass section that build in intensity, then climax with dynamic, resounding major-key flourishes. Highlights are many: expressive, regal chordal passage for horns, trumpets during "The Computer Room", exciting action material during "White Sands", powerful, majestic finish to climactic "Home Again". Special spotlight goes to magnificent "SpaceCamp" cue, heard during end credits of movie (though composer placed it as opener to second side of his 1986 RCA LP). For this memorable 4-minute sequence, Williams anchors with dazzling fanfare, races into riveting allegro for full orchestra using fanfare as thematic basis, then crescendos into stunning fortissimo reading of main theme for entire orchestra to conclude. On a pedestal that includes Star Wars, E.T. and Superman, SpaceCamp stands tall. Williams packed almost every important musical sequence into his lengthy LP back in 1986. Intrada CD features same contents of that album courtesy Sony Music. John Williams conducts.
Track Listing
01. Main Title (3:07)
02. Training Montage (2:00)
03. The Shuttle (5:02)
04. The Computer Room (1:54)
05. Friends Forever (2:20)
06. In Orbit (3:12)
07. White Sands (6:52)
08. SpaceCamp (4:06)
09. Viewing Daedalus (2:45)
10. Max Breaks Loose (2:21)
11. Andie Is Stranded (4:08)
12. Max Finds Courage (3:53)
13. Re-Entry (3:55)
14. Home Again (3:30)