Soylent Green / Demon Seed - Complete Score - Fred Myrow / Jerry Fielding

Sale price Price £44.95 Regular price Unit price  per 

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
The music to Soylent Green was composed by Fred Myrow (1939-1999), an eclectic musician who worked in film, theater and the concert hall. Myrow provided an imaginative, pop-based main title (for a montage of still photographs), futuristic-sounding source cues (featuring electric violin and synthesizers), and strange, atmospheric moods for the underscore. The CD includes his original, unused classical-styled music for Edward G. Robinson's death sequence, as well as the actual classical works (by Tchaikovsky, Beethoven and Grieg) conducted by Gerald Fried for the finished film. The Soylent Green portion of the CD is entirely in stereo
Demon Seed (1977) was directed by Donald Cammell (Performance) and stars Julie Christie as the wife of a scientist (Fritz Weaver) who has invented the Proteus IV supercomputer. However, Proteus soon develops the need to procreateÑand uses Christie as the means to that end, trapping her in her house and terrorizing her. Jerry Fielding's avant garde score was a high-water mark in the composer's experimentation, featuring eerie suspense and violence as Proteus and Christie engage in a battle of wills. Fielding conceived and recorded several pieces electronically, using the musique concrete sound world of Karlheinz Stockhausen; some of this music he later reworked symphonically. FSM's premiere release of the Demon Seed score features the entire orchestral score in stereo, as well as the unused electronic experiments in mono and stereo .
Track Listing
Soylent Green (Music Composed and Conducted by Fred Myrow) Symphony Music Conducted by Gerald Fried
1. Prologue/Opening City Music (4:20)
2. Can I Do Something for You? (1:47)
3. Out for a Walk/Nothing Like This/Assassin Approaches/Necessary to Good/New Tenant (5:29)
4. Stalking the Pad (1:41)
5. Tab's Pad/Furniture Party (3:43)
6. Shirl and Thorn (2:08)
7. Home Lobby Source (2:58)
8. Sol's Music (6:29)
9. Symphony Music (6:17)
10. Infernal Machine/Thorn in Danger/Are You with Us?/Alternate City Opening/End Credits (5:13)

Demon Seed (Music Composed and Conducted by Jerry Fielding)
11. Birth Scene/Speaking Room/Elk Herd (3:17)
12. Proteus Requests/Light On/Your Phone is Out (8:24)
13. Visiting Hours/Probed and Put to Bed (3:24)
14. The Gaz Chamber/Rape of the Earth/How?/Hypnosis/Chimes (8:23)
15. Pre-Trip/Big Wind/Sperm/Spirograph/Tetra Waltz (7:18)
16. Last Voyage (2:35)
17. Closing Crawl (2:03)
18. End Credits (3:59)
Total duration: 79 minutes