Poltergeist - 2 x CD Expanded Score - Jerry Goldsmith

Sale price Price £49.95 Regular price Unit price  per 

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Jerry GoldsmithÕs score flows effortlessly between hard-core, dissonant modernism and some of the most lyrical, humanistic music he ever wrote. It is both a marvel of musical construction and a visceral listening experience. Composed over an uncharacteristically long period of fifteen weeks, the music for Poltergeist evokes both child-like simplicity and sheer terror. The complete presentation of the score on Disc 1 includes several passages that were not used in the film.
Mike Matessino restored GoldsmithÕs Poltergeist score from the three-track stereo film mixes for this release; Bruce Botnick, the film's original recording supervisor, did the digital mastering. The deluxe 28-page booklet features an informative and perceptive essay on the film and scoreÑincorporating remarks by the composerÑand a complete cue-by-cue analysis by Matessino.

As a bonus, disc 2 also includes the re-recorded suite of cues (including one previously unreleased) from GoldsmithÕs The Prize (1963). Originally recorded for MGM LP, four of these tracks were included on FSMÕs CD of the complete score, but all five have now been remixed for superior sound quality from newly-discovered _Ó three-track masters.

The CD booklet also includes a personal reminiscence from Bruce Botnick about the 1982 Poltergeist recording sessions, as well as the original LP notes by Steven Spielberg. In the legendary producerÕs words, ÒJerryÕs music conjures many classical impressions of ferocious drive and at the same time, cathedral beauty. SoÉ let the imagination wander. Pleasant dreams
Track Listing
DISC ONE: The Film Score
1. The Star Spangled Banner 1:30
2. The Calling 1:57
3. The NeighborhoodÑDay 2:15
4. The Tree 2:26
5. The Clown/They're Here/Broken Glass 3:52
6. The Hole/TV People 1:26
7. Twisted Abduction 6:58
8. The Jewelry 5:06
9. The Light 2:07
10. Night Visitor 8:00
11. No Complaints 1:05
12. LetÕs Get Her/Rebirth 16:02
13. Night of the Beast 3:51
14. Escape From Suburbia 7:29
15. No TV/End Credits (Carol Anne's Theme) 4:20
Total Disc Time: 68:25

DISC TWO: The 1982 Soundtrack Album
1. Carol AnneÕs Theme 3:29
2. Night Visitor 7:28
3. Escape From Suburbia 6:18
4. The Light 2:03
5. The NeighborhoodÑDay 2:15
6. Night of the Beast 2:16
7. Twisted Abduction 6:14
8. Rebirth 8:17
Total Time: 38:17

Bonus Tracks
9. Twinkle, Twinkle, Little Star 0:36
10. Wild Percussion 3:14
11. The Calling (alternate) 2:05
12. Carol AnneÕs Theme (orchestra only) 3:15
13. The Clown (alternate) 1:16
Escape From Suburbia (alternate) 7:31
14. Carol AnneÕs Theme (original edit and alternate vocal) 3:15
Total Time: 21:10

Bonus Score:
15. The Prize: Soundtrack Album Recording
16. Theme From The Prize 2:15
17. Manhunt 2:50
18. Three Lost People 1:23
19. The Night People 2:02
20. The Courier 1:37
Total Time: 10:05
Total Disc Time: 69:42