Night Crossing - Expanded Score - Jerry Goldsmith

Sale price Price £29.95 Regular price Unit price  per 

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
All-new licensing arrangement with Walt Disney Productions allows brand new complete presentation of powerhouse Jerry Goldsmith soundtrack from Delbert Mann deadly escape from East to West Germany tale, starring John Hurt, Beau Bridges, Jane Alexander, Glynnis O'Connor. Brand new mastering from original multi-track stereo session masters provides best audio ever, includes two major alternate sequences where Goldsmith made interesting changes during scoring sessions. When Intrada visited score years ago with composer involvement, Goldsmith edited several bars of his opening percussion to "tighten pace". Result was indeed a brisker reading of opening prologue music but somewhat lost were critically timed pauses between bars of percussion, pauses that later become part of interior rhythm of score throughout. Cues now play in their original unedited manner. For massive "First Flight" set-piece, Goldsmith recorded cue in two versions two accommodate editorial changes in picture, one familiar from earlier album, the other being heard for first time ever. Changes are both subtle (hard mallets on cymbals becoming soft mallets on gong) to pronounced (high, resounding trumpet statement of theme at climactic point becoming lower brass quote instead.) Both versions appear on this CD. Goldsmith also made two slightly different versions of final "Into The West" cue, originally scoring additional tenor drum hits that he ultimately deemed "too busy" for final film version. As with "First Flight", both versions appear here. Though a slight nod to completeists, new CD also includes first release of Goldsmith-composed "Steel Guitar" cue, used as on-screen source music early in film. Another asset: This time around, booklet offers generous array of color stills from film. Goldsmith launches his masterful score with one of his most exciting "Main Title" sequences ever, creates thrilling action music, soaring flight music, wraps score proper with dynamic major-key fortissimo, then plays out with closing statement of his secondary waltz theme. One of Goldsmith's classics! Jerry Goldsmith conducts National Philharmonic Orchestra.
Track Listing
01. Main Title (Part 1) (1:16)
 02. Main Title (Part 2) (1:55)
 03. The Market (1:05)
 04. All In Vain (3:24)
 05. The Picnic (4:04)
 06. Plans (5:08)
 07. First Test (0:43)
 08. Too Much Work (1:33)
 09. Success (3:44)
 10. First Flight (Original) (9:39)
 11. The Car 2:19
 12. The Patches (2:51)
 13. Short Of Time (2:44)
 14. Tomorrow We Go (1:05)
 15. The Chemist (1:32)
 16. No Time To Wait (5:35)
 17. Final Flight (6:15)
 18. Into The West (Revised) (3:41)
 19. End Titles (1:14)
The Extras
 20. Steel Guitar (0:52)
 21. First Flight (Revised) (9:38)
 22. Into The West (Original) (3:41)