BSX Records

Near Dark - Original Score - Limited 2000 Copies - Tangerine Dream

Sale price Price £22.95 Regular price Unit price  per 

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
The producers of the film had succeeded in making a unique vampire film and were intent on hiring someone to produce music for the film that also would not sound like a typical vampire film. They turned to the German electronic band Tangerine Dream. At the time of NEAR DARK, Tangerine Dream√ïs line up consisted of Edgar Froese, Christopher Franke, and Paul Haslinger, who collaborated equally on composing and performing all of their music. Coming out of ambient electronic rock, Tangerine Dream√ïs music is characterized by progressive atmospheres, although in later film projects such as LEGEND, they would begin to experiment more with melodic structures. Their music for NEAR DARK is primarily based on ambiance and tempo, with an emphasis on minimalistic riffing and slowly developed rhythm pads which are built up with progressive layers of electronic and acoustic instrumentation. Previously released on compact disc in 1987 and out of print for many years, remastered sound by Digital Outland. The booklet includes new liner notes by author Randall Larson on the production of the film and the creation of the score.
Track Listing
1. Caleb's Blues (3:21)
2. Pick Up At High Noon (5:00)
3. Rain In The Third House (2:59)
4. Bus Station
(includes Des Mae's Theme) (8:43)
5. Goodtimes (2:36)
6. She's My Sister (Resurrection I) (7:21)
7. Mae Comes Back (2:03)
8. Father And Son (Resurrection II) (2:58)
9. Severen Dies (2:49)
10. Fight At Dawn (4:40)
11. Mae's Transformation (4:22)