Mandingo / Plaza Suite - Complete Score - Maurice Jarre

Sale price Price £26.95 Regular price Unit price  per 

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Treat for Maurice Jarre fans! Two previously unreleased Paramount film soundtracks on one CD! Anchoring is 44-minute score from Mandingo, vivid adaptation of Kyle Onstott tale of Southern slavery, directed by Richard Fleischer, starring James Mason, Perry King, Ken Norton, Susan George. Dino Delaurentiis produces film after earlier attempts by others fail, then works with screenwriter Norman Wexler to ensure novel's potent violence, sex, sadism arrive intact on screen. Maurice Jarre tackles challenging assignment, brings melodic gifts to fore, then adds colors of banjo, dissonant strings, primitive percussion, other disturbing ideas to create unsettling feel for lurid plantation life. Contrasting styles provide considerable depth. Score also features Muddy Waters vocal ("Born In This Time"), used in film at Jarre's request, who draws upon melody/countermelody of song throughout his orchestral score. Presented from 2" 16-track stereo session masters housed in Paramount vaults. Second score finds Jarre in still-melodic but now breezier, jazz-like mode for Neil Simon's Plaza Suite, directed by Arthur Hiller, featuring Walter Matthau, Maureen Stapleton, Lee Grant. Brief score melds both warm humor, light drama into one cohesive musical showcase of composer's tuneful talent. Lukas Kendall helms album assembly, John Takis provides detailed liner notes, Joe Sikoryak provides colorful graphic design. Maurice Jarre conducts both scores.
Track Listing
01. Born in This Time (Muddy Waters, vocal) (3:26)
02. The Dinner Table/PearlÕs Bath/Reading Lesson (5:28)
03. Meet Mr. Wallace (1:15)
04. EllenÕs Seduction (1:53)
05. First Meeting No. 1/First Meeting No. 2 (1:22)
06. Wedding Day (2:08)
07. Blanche Comes Home (2:33)
08. Display of Strength (2:23)
09. BlancheÕs Problems (3:04)
10. Ellen Pleads (3:45)
11. After CiceroÕs Hanging/Sickness (1:59)
12. The Fight (1:06)
13. The Earrings (0:48)
14. A Gift for Blanche (1:11)
15. To the Market (Muddy Waters, vocal) (1:27)
16. Prelude to the Love Scene (1:22)
17. Blanche and Mede (4:31)
18. Ellen Is Jealous (1:25)
19. Death Potion (1:18)
20. End Credits (Muddy Waters, vocal) (1:35)
     Total Score Time: 44:41
Bonus Tracks
21. Brothel Baby (2:20)
22. PearlÕs Bath (original version) (2:17)
23. Meet Mr. Wallace (original version) (0:56)
     Total Bonus Time: 5:38
24. Main Title (Theme From Plaza Suite) (2:31)
25. Theme IV (Theme From Plaza Suite) (0:51)
26. Exit SamÑEnter Jesse (1:58)
27. Exit JesseÑEnter Hubley and Wedding March (2:25)
28. Baroque Room Waltz (1:19)
29. Finale & Bows (Theme From Plaza Suite) (2:43)
     Total Score Time: 11:58