Klute / All The President's Men - Expanded Score - Michael Small

Sale price Price £39.95 Regular price Unit price  per 

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Klute's score by Michael SmallÑhis first Hollywood assignmentÑwas groundbreaking in its use of an avant garde chamber orchestra (piano, percussion and voiceÑa creepy female "siren song") compared to symphonic or jazz approaches of the past. Such a style had never been used in a Hollywood thriller and it was an instant hit, leading to Small scoring other '70s classics like The Parallax View and Marathon Man. The score also includes a melancholy "pop" love theme for trumpet and eclectic source cues for the 1970s urban setting.
All the President's Men (1976) was the brilliant film adaptation of the book by Washington Post journalists Bob Woodward and Carl Bernstein, chronicling their historic investigation into Watergate and President Nixon. Robert Redford and Dustin Hoffman played the reporters in one of the best films about journalism and politics ever madeÑa crackling true-life mystery with global implications.
In the mid-1970s, no composer was as renowned as David Shire for finding exquisitely subtle musical solutions for demanding and unique films like The Conversation, The Taking of Pelham One Two Three, Farewell, My Lovely and The Hindenburg. When Shire was first screened All the President's Men, he asked if the film needed any music at all, but director Pakula suggested that music could remind audiences of the "human heart" beating in the characters. Shire crafted a brief and understated score that never sacrificed melody or musicality, with a memorable theme speaking of the journalists' resolve to untangle the mystery.
Klute has circulated for many years as a "promotional" or bootleg LP from which numerous unauthorized copies have been made; the original soundtrack to All the President's Men has never been released. This definitive CD features both scores remixed from the 16-track master elements for optimal stereo sound quality Liner notes are by Kyle Renick.
Track Listing
Love Theme From Klute 3:44
Main Title 2:03
I Want to Speak to You 3:04
Phone Call Play Back 0:42
Walk to Casting Office 0:32
Casting Office 3:11
Goldfarb's Record 4:16
Cable After Goldfarb 0:19
On the Roof 3:11
Cable's First Office 2:07
Tea With Madame 1:28
First Disco 2:55
Skylight 0:25
Search for Arlyn Page 1:19
Drive From Arlyn's 0:31
Laguran's Disco 3:12
Moonwall 0:49
Nightmare 1:25
Takes Care of Me 1:15
Dead Arlyn 0:37
Hand on Fence 0:33
Fruitmarket 1:27
Down Building 1:09
Helicopter 0:22
Bree Followed on Street 2:15
Cable in Loft 1:30
Down the Alley 1:17
Final Flight 0:47
End Title 1:10
Total Time: 48:51
All the President's Men
Music Composed and Conducted by David Shire
Library of Congress 0:57
To Deep Throat I 1:56
Unifax (v.1) 0:50
Unifax (v.2) 0:44
The Dahlberg Check 0:45
The CREEP List (v.1) 0:42
The CREEP List (v.2) 0:54
CREEP Sequence I 2:13
CREEP Sequence II (v.1) 1:12
CREEP Sequence II (v.2) 1:02
CREEP Sequence III (v.1) 0:49
CREEP Sequence III (v.2) 1:08
The Neat Little Houses 0:28
Limo Into White House 0:40
To Segretti 0:34
Paranoia Walk (v.1) 1:15
Paranoia Walk (v.2) 1:30
"John" Haldeman Phone Call 0:59
To Deep Throat II (v.1) 2:03
To Deep Throat II (v.2) 1:16
Vivaldi Concerto for Two Trumpets in C Major: Allegro 2:55
Bradlee Lawn to Newsroom 0:34
Exit Nixon 0:48
Finale and End Title 2:48