Judge Dredd - 2 x CD Complete Score - Alan Silvestri

Sale price Price £69.95 Regular price Unit price  per 

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Long-awaited restoration of full, action-packed Alan Silvestri soundtrack on 2 CDs! Danny Cannon directs, Sylvester Stallone stars, sizzling action in dystopian future abounds! Drawn from British comic magazine, movie literally bristles with excitement. Silvestri takes cue from hardcore-style action in film, creates masterful score with unusually strong, heroic major-key theme for Dredd, darker minor-key choral material for background story, pulsating orchestral rhythms to punctuate profuse, violent action. Dredd theme typically gets noble French horn, trumpet for leads but is flexible, also plays softly on flute in select sequences. Still, with action the name of the game, composer keeps momentum going throughout. Incredibly, Silvestri recorded some two hours of music for a picture ultimately running just 96 minutes! Explanation: He recorded lengthy score in London, selections of which appeared on Epic label in 1995 (paired with several songs) but post-production edits to film required him to make changes and record most of his score again! This time, sessions were held in Los Angeles - it is these performances that appear in finished film. New Intrada 2-CD set features both London, Los Angeles sessions! Courtesy Walt Disney and Sony Music, a treasure-chest full of previously unreleased music is the reward! Highlights are many but spotlight goes to revised finish to score: here, Silvestri concludes with heroic fanfare familiar from 1995 album but introduces all-new treatment for brief moment of optimism that adds weight, emotion to last scene before wrapping with magnificent fortissimo coda. One of the great film score endings! CD 1 offers score as heard in picture (including powerful "revised" Main Title), CD 2 offers 45 minutes of early takes, alternates plus 4 tracks from original 1995 album in which unique assemblies were prepared. As a special "extra", riveting original soundtrack performance of "Judge Dredd - Trailer" by Jerry Goldsmith makes powerhouse finish to CD 1. Informative liner notes about entire film production by Tim Greiving, colorful graphic design by Joe Sikoryak, complete cue assembly details, musician lists for both Silvestri's Los Angeles sessions, Goldsmith's trailer sessions round out dynamic package. This one packs a punch! Alan Silvestri conducts his score, Jerry Goldsmith conducts his trailer.
Track Listing
CD 1
01. Main Title Ð Revised (5:00)
02. Block War Ð Revised (5:01)
03. IÕve Heard It All Ð Revised+ (2:23)
04. Aspen Ð Revised (3:25)
05. It Ends (0:41)
06. The Law (1:54)
07. Pawn Shop (1:43)
08. Parking Penalty (0:54)
09. DreddÕs Arrest (1:32)
10. Say It AinÕt So (2:23)
11. Judgement Day+ (4:23)
12. Hidden Photo (0:39)
13. Shuttle Crash (2:37)
14. Access Denied (1:03)
15. Angel Family Values (6:01)
16. We Created You (3:46)
17. New Order Montage (2:12)
18. HersheyÕs Close Call (0:18)
19. Janus! (0:57)
20. Council Chaos Ð Revised (7:30)
21. HersheyÕs Apartment (1:14)
22. Twice You Owe Me+ (1:17)
23. Griffin Gets It (0:58)
24. Send In The Clones (1:15)
25. New World Ð Revised (7:47)
26. Judge Dredd Ð Trailer (Jerry Goldsmith) (0:47)
CD 1 Total Time: 68.22

CD 2 The Extras
Original and Alternate Takes

01. Main Title+* (4:56)
02. Block War+ (3:05)
03. IÕve Heard It All+ (0:36)
04. Dredd And Fargo+ (0:33)
05. YouÕre A Legend+ (0:23)
06. Aspen+ (2:27)
07. Aspen Ð Alternate+ (2:27)
08. I Judged Him+ (0:56)
09. Hershey Objects+ (0:21)
10. Bon Appetite+ (1:42)
11. Brief Reunion+ (1:32)
12. Council Chaos+* (5:46)
13. Choose+ (5:17)
14. Choose Ð Alternate+ (4:42)
15. Choose Ð Revised+ (5:14)
16. New World+ (2:25)
17. New World Ð Alternate+ (2:25)
Total Time : 45:23
Original 1995 Soundtrack Assemblies
18. Judgement Day+ (5:53)
19. Block War+ (4:39)
20. Angel Family+ (5:36)
21. New World+ (9:13)
Total Time: 25:31
CD 2 Time: 71:00
+Not featured in film *Previously released