Hurry Sundown - 2 x CD Complete Score - Limited Edition - Hugo Montenegro

Sale price Price £39.95 Regular price Unit price  per 

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Wow! Magnificent Hugo Montenegro score arrives on 2-CD set with wealth of previously unreleased music! Not only expanded from 1967 RCA album but with much music deleted from finished film and being heard here for first time. Otto Preminger originally intended mammoth story about race relations in the South after WWII as three hour-plus epic with "intermission" and "exit" music. Final picture was cut heavily, with sizable portions of film - and score - dropped entirely. Montenegro originally recorded lengthy score for longer cut, including afore-mentioned "roadshow" music across some 42 reels of 35mm multi-track session elements with multiple layers requiring complex synchronization. In wonderful discovery, Paramount Pictures located every single 35mm reel in absolutely pristine condition, allowing brand new full stereo mix of every cue! Entire score, alternates, versions both with, without various overlays, unused cues, "Entr'acte" and "Exit" music - all survived intact with some of the most astonishingly detailed stereo sound ever encountered with mid-sixties era film score recordings! Michael Caine, Jane Fonda, John Philip Law, Faye Dunaway, Robert Hooks, Diahann Carroll, Burgess Meredith, George Kennedy all feature in large cast, Horton Foote (To Kill A Mockingbird) co-scripts with Thomas C. Ryan, Otto Preminger directs. Hugo Montenegro anchors with incredibly strong main theme ("Main Title"), then surrounds with vast array of themes, motifs: the Americana idiom of "Homecoming", love themes for Caine/Fonda & Law/Dunaway characters, heartfelt variants for Hooks/Carroll relationship (much of which was cut from final film & score) plus much much more! Intrada release also features two versions of powerful, nearly 11-minute "Playing With Dynamite" sequence - just three minutes appeared on original 1967 RCA album.) Intrada also offers Caine's solo sax pieces, Montenegro's cool jazz source cues, afore-mentioned "Entr'acte" and "Exit" music plus numerous score alternates. If not enough, find the complete 1967 34-minute LP newly re-mastered from original two-track stereo album masters. It is rare to unearth so much musical material from Preminger's epic roadshow-style films. Happily, Hurry Sundown is one such discovery! Rich packaging features flipper-style booklet cover: choose between original film campaign art by David Weissman or 1967 LP cover art by Saul Bass. Richly recorded at Metro Goldwyn Mayer Studios Scoring Stage during October 1966. Leo Shuken, Jack Hayes orchestrate, Hugo Montenegro conducts.


Track Listing

01. Main Title (2:18)
02. Homecoming (4:41)
03. First Meeting (1:34)
04. RadÕs Wound (1:26)
05. Kids Sleep (1:05)
06. Love Theme (Revised) (5:49)
07. Hi Rad (0:28)
08. Welcome Suki (2:24)
09. Rose Meets Julie (3:37)
10. RoseÕs Attack (1:15)
11. The Loser (2:22)
12. Hurry Sundown Theme (1:17)
13. Breakfast In Bed (2:07)
14. Bread And Jam (1:45)
15. Love Me Vivian (Original) (3:43)
16. Reeve (0:37)
17. Hurry Sundown (Choral Ð Film Version) (2:16)
18. EntrÕacte (3:27)
19. Jubilation And Hurry Sundown Blues (3:47)
20. HenryÕs Blues (1:57)
21. VivianÕs Nite Visit (1:25)
22. JulieÕs Gone (With Sax Overlay) (1:59)
23. HenryÕs Dream No. 1 (With Sax Overlay) (1:54)
24. CharlieÕs Trip (2:49)
25. Playing With Dynamite (10:42)
26. Togetherness (3:17)
27. End Title (With Soprano Overlay) (1:14)
28. Exit Music Ð Hurry Sundown (Choral) (1:59)
CD1 Time: 74:03

The Extras -- Alternates and Additional Cues
01. Cool It Julie Ð Intro (0:09)
02. Love Theme (Original) (5:48)
03. Love Me Vivian No. 2 (Revised) (1:59)
04. JulieÕs Gone (1:59)
05. HenryÕs Dream No. 1 (1:54)
06. HenryÕs Dream No. 2 (With Sax Overlay) (0:37)
07. HenryÕs Dream No. 2 (0:37)
08. Playing With Dynamite (Alternate) (10:42)
09. End Title (1:14)
Time: 27:02

Saxophone Cues
10. O Henry (1:51)
11. Cool It Julie Ð Sax (HenryÕs Theme) (2:03)
12. O Henry (JulieÕs Sax Solo) (0:05)
Time: 4:05

Original RCA Soundtrack Album
13. Main Title (2:19)
14. Cool It Julie (2:20)
15. Hurry Sundown (Choral Ð Film Version) (2:11)
16. Homecoming (2:18)
17. The Loser (2:24)
18. Love Me Vivian (3:26)
19. CharlieÕs Trip (2:49)
20. Hurry Sundown (Choral) (2:01)
21. Playing With Dynamite (3:12)
22. Hurry Sundown Blues (2:00)
23. Love Theme (2:46)
24. Breakfast In Bed (2:10)
25. Interlude And End Title From Hurry Sundown (3:30)
Time: 33:43
CD2 Total Time: 64:59