High Plains Drifter - Complete Score - Dee Barton

Sale price Price £28.95 Regular price Unit price  per 

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
At long last! World premiere of complex, highly original score for justifiably famous Clint Eastern western with director as star. Dee Barton scores with unusually strong minor key main theme in western garb, then heads into Lago (the town) with much more under his saddle! Complex, experimental ideas play on strings, guitars, harmonica, percussion, early synths, electric bass, voice... an array of tense, dissonant colors! But there's much more than what has been known up to now: Universal's multi-track scoring session masters revealed numerous orchestral cues in traditional western guise that filmmakers dropped in favor of vivid experimental cues. New ideas like "Dummy Wagon" bring broad, expansive themes into play, action cues such as "Gunfight", "Shooting Stacy" offer intense brass figures amongst chaotic strings, even a sturdy vocal version of main theme with orchestra adds color, all of these being heard for first time ever, illuminating fact that composer intended much longer score than what (admittedly effective) amount remains in finished production. Dee Barton (famed composer/arranger for Stan Kenton as well as uncredited composer on several Dirty Harry films and composer of Eastwood's first directing effort: Play Misty For Me) writes with requisite nod to Morricone in use of rhythm, short motifs to punctuate script lines, so forth, but then takes off in his own direction with extremely challenging music - amongst western genre's most unorthodox ever. Intrada presentation offers every cue recorded by Barton, mixed into dynamic stereo from mint condition complete three-channel scoring session masters. Flipper cover offers dramatic shot of star under "Universal 100th Anniversary" banner on one side, exciting original poster campaign on the other.
Track Listing
The Album
01. High Plains Drifter (Main Title) 4:20
02. Barber Shop Menace 1:43
03. Vision Of Marshal 2:25
04. Gathering Loot 1:43
05. Out Of Prison 2:32
06. Dummy Wagon 2:28
07. Campfire Murder 2:19
08. Target Practice 0:48
09. Whipped To Death 4:54
10. Callie 5:57
11. Hotel Explodes 0:42
12. Blood On Log 0:27
13. Dynamite 3:41
14. Preparations 1:40
15. Bell Signal 2:07
16. Gunfight In Lago 2:02 
17. Shooting Stacy 5:12
18. Headstone And End Credits 2:08
     Total Album Time: 47:28

The Extras
19. High Plains Drifter (Unused Title Song) 3:10
20. Dummy Wagon (Short) 0:14
21. Dummy Wagon Stinger 0:09
22. Target Practice Stinger 0:13
23. R91 Stinger(s) #1 0:25
24. R92 Stinger(s) #1 0:13
25. R92A Stinger(s) #1 0:44
26. R93 Stinger(s) #1 0:20
27. Wild Harmonica Stingers 1:20
     Total Extras Time: 6:49