Music Box Records

Golden Needles - Complete Score - Limited 1000 Copies - Lalo Schifrin

Sale price Price £39.95 Regular price Unit price  per 

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Golden Needles was directed by Robert Clouse, who brought along composer Lalo Schifrin from their last successful collaboration, Enter the Dragon. The music is the perfect accompaniment for the east-meets-west scenario and in many ways, it can be viewed as the close cousin of SchifrinÕs incredibly influential soundtrack for Bruce LeeÕs last film. Featuring cool percussion, infectious jazz licks, epic action set pieces and even a tender love theme for the unlikely romance of Dan and token femme fatale Felicity, SchifrinÕs music for Golden Needles is as great as it is largely forgotten in the shadow of its more esteemed peer Ð at least until now.
This CD by Music Box Records marks the premiere release of Golden Needles; The only piece of music that has been released from the film was a re-recording on SchifrinÕs 2000 compilation album Jazz Goes to Hollywood. This soundtrack presents all the music in mostly chronological order and is accompanied by an 8-page booklet with liner notes by Gergely Hubai who discusses the film and the score. Golden Needles may lack the name recognition of Bullitt or the cult factor of Enter the Dragon, but the score definitely delivers everything youÕd expect from the composer at the top of his game Ð and it certainly doesnÕt disappoint fans of Schifrin or martial arts movies in general.
Track Listing
1. The Golden Statue (00:46)
2. Golden Needles (Main Title) (03:03)
3. Acupuncture #1 (04:12)
4. Flames / Lin Toa (02:18)
5. Love Theme (01:25)
6. Fortune Teller / Snake Shop / Snakes (04:21)
7. Felicity (02:59)
8. Mongolian Supper (00:56)
9. Chinese Paintings (01:20)
10. Empty Hangers / Attack on Kwan / Chinese Cemetery (03:23)
11. Airports / Street Fight (02:16)
12. Winters' Mansion / Winters / It's Time (02:01)
13. Taxi (02:02)
14. Antique Shop / Health Club (02:27)
15. Health Club Fight (01:44)
16. Acupuncture #2 (04:11)
17. Menace / Hong Kong Street (01:43)
18. Heavies Approach / Harbor Sequence (01:54)
19. Harbor Chase / Crowds / Conclusion (09:34)
20. Golden Needles (End Titles) (02:48)
21. Finzie's Piano #1 (02:29)
22. Chinese Street Source (00:58)
23. Finzie's Piano #2 (04:12)
24. Golden Needles of Love (05:46)
Total Time ¥ 69:50