Data Discs

Galaxy Force II / Thunderblade - Complete Game Scores - (Black Vinyl) - Limited Edition - Koichi Namiki / Katsuhiro Hayashi

Sale price Price £22.95 Regular price Unit price  per 

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
Galaxy Force II (1988) and Thunder Blade (1987) Ð together for the first time ever on vinyl. Composed by Koichi Namiki, Katsuhiro Hayashi and Tohru Nakabayashi, both soundtracks adopted an ambitious funk and fusion style, simulating an impressive range of real world instrumentation (think synthesizers, drums, slap bass and cowbells), which for its time and hardware limitations, is nothing short of astonishing. And yes, thereÕs even a coded slap bass solo.

These two brief, but remarkable soundtracks each accommodate a single side of an LP, but work together seamlessly. Galaxy Force II includes a bonus arranged version of its leading track, Beyond the Galaxy, produced by Hiroshi ÒHiroÓ Kawaguchi (composer of OutRun, Space Harrier) and features a full studio band, complete with brass section and a keyboard solo by Hiro himself. In addition, the Thunder Blade side includes three unused tracks.

The audio for both games was sourced from the original arcade machines and carefully mastered for vinyl. Presented as a 180g LP in 425gsm sleeve, accompanied by an OBI strip and lithographic print featuring original Galaxy Force II artwork sourced from the SEGA archives in Japan.

Track Listing

A1. Coin
A2. Scene Select 
A3. Beyond the Galaxy 
A4. Defeat 
A5. Take Back 
A6. Stage Clear 
A7. Alone Fighter 
A9. Name Entry 
A10. Beyond the Galaxy ([H.] Arrange Ver.)

B1. Coin 
B2. Thunder Blade 
B3. Burning Point 
B4. Round Clear 
B5. Type II 
B6. Name Entry 
B7. Take Off (Unused) 
B8. Primary Attach (Unused) 
B9. In Conclusion (Unused)