BSX Records

Blade Runner - 30th Anniversary Edition - Limited 1500 Copies - Vangelis

Sale price Price £22.95 Regular price Unit price  per 

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
A new recording faithfully recreating the original music from the film, which proved to be a difficult task. VangelisÕ score was composed entirely by performing on keyboards and recording it directly, so no written transcriptions exist. Composer Edgar Rothermich was charged with reverse engineering the score Ð listening to the original music and a 1982 album mock-up and transcribing it by ear. He also had to recreate the sound of 1982 synthesizers and decipher if noise heard was due to recording on tape or stylistic choices by the composer. ÒBLADE RUNNER is the most difficult kind of score to deconstruct,Ó said BSX producer Ford A. Thaxton. ÒSymphonic music can usually be determined because the instrumental palette is known. But the 1970s-era electronic technology and the improvisational style in which Vangelis created the score made it especially difficult. But we feel EdgarÕs made a very close replication of what the score sounded like in the film. HeÕs true to the sound the original but heÕs brought it into todayÕs world.Ó
BLADE RUNNER: MUSIC FROM THE MOTION PICTURE Ð A 30TH ANNIVERSARY CELEBRATION has been mastered by James Nelson at Digital Outland and includes exclusive liner notes written by Randall Larson, detailing the process of creating this new recording.
Track Listing
1. Ladd Company Logo (0:25)
Composed by John Williams
french horn: Stephanie O'Keefe
2. Main Titles (Film Version) / Prologue (4:00)
3. Los Angeles, November 2019 (1:49)
4. Deckard Meets Rachael (1:32)
5. Bicycle Riders (2:13)
(Pompeii 76 A.D.)
Composed by Gail Laughton
6. Memories of Green (5:40)
7. Blade Runner Blues (10:20)
8. Deckard's Dream (1:16)
9. On the Trail of Nexus 6 (5:35)
(Tales Of The Future)
Vocal By Fella Oudane
10. One More Kiss Dear (4:01)
Composed by Vangelis and Peter Skellern
Produced and arranged by Dominik Hauser
Vocal by Tom Schmid
11. Love Theme (5:07)
saxophone: Paul Frederick
12. The Prodigal Son Brings Death (3:37)
13. Dangerous Days (1:05)
14. Wounded Animals (11:00)
15. Tears in Rain (2:44)
16. End Titles (7:25)
17. Main Titles (Album Version) (4:02)
Total Time: 72:29