Battle Beyond The Stars – Complete Score – Limited Edition – James Horner


3 in stock



Released in the wake of STAR WARS in 1980 amidst a slew of other imitators, BATTLE BEYOND THE STARS set itself apart from the other films with a charming and clever script that was equal parts STAR WARS and Akira Kurosawa’s SEVEN SAMURAI, sprinkled with THE MAGNIFICENT 7. BATTLE BEYOND THE STARS also gave several key people in the movie industry some of their first jobs, such as director James Cameron, here serving as art director, producer Gale Anne Hurd, serving on this film as assistant production manager, and composer James Horner, whose work in this film helped producers of the STAR TREK franchise make their decision to hire him to score STAR TREK II and III, beginning Horner’s rise to prominence as a film composer.
In 1980, at age 26 James Horner, having written some additional music for Roger Corman’s UP FROM THE DEPTHS and following his first solo efforts on THE LADY IN RED and HUMANOIDS FROM THE DEEP, James Horner prepared to take on his first big film scoring assignment. With John Williams’ STAR WARS and Jerry Goldsmith’s STAR TREK: THE MOTION PICTURE as his barometer, Horner set out to write a large scale symphonic score cut from the same cloth, in the grand symphonic tradition of the composers of the Golden Age.
Track Listing
1. Main Title (1:59)
2. Malmori Rear Guard (3:46)
3. Love Theme (3:48)
4. Cowboy and the Jackers (3:30)
5. Nanelia’s Capture (1:24)
6. The Hunter (1:35)
7. Nanelia (1:28)
8. The Battle Begins (4:28)
9. The Maze Battle (3:06)
10. Gelt’s Death (1:25)
11. Nanelia and Shad (1:23)
12. Heading For Sador (0:55)
13. Cowboy’s Attack (1:42)
14. Shad’s Pursuit (3:18)
15. Destruction of Hammerhead (3:35)
16. Epilogue and End Title (4:58)
Music Composed byJames Horner
17. Gelt’s Chamber
Music Composed by Alan Howarth
Created and Produced by Alan Howarth
18. Command Ship Radio Chatter
19. Drone Chatter #1
20. Drone Chatter #2
21. Drone Chatter #3
22. Drone Chatter #4
23. Drone Chatter #6
24. Drone Chatter #7
25. Drone Chatter #8
26. Drone Chatter #9
27. Drone Chatter #10
28. Drone Chatter #11
29. Drone Chatter #12
30. Drone Chatter #13
31. Drone Chatter #14
32. Laser Artillery #1
33. Laser Artillery #2
34. Laser Artillery #3
35. Laser Artillery #4
36. Stereo Fly-Bys
37. Pass-Bys with Vocoder
38. Hammerhead Low Rumble
39. Nell Cave Launch – 1st Stage
40. Nell Cave Launch – 2nd Stage
41. Nell Cave Launch – 3rd Stage
42. Nell Fly Away
43. Nell Engine Build-Up
44. Nell Exterior Fly-By
45. Nell Maneuvering Thrusters
46. Bad Guy Lasers
47. Telemetry #1
48. Laser Blast
49. Sonic Tank Short Blast
50. Sonic Tank Long Blast
51. Drone Chatter #5 (Long Live Lord Sador)
Music Composed by James Horner
Performed by the
City of Prague Philharmonic Orchestra
Conducted by Nic Raine
Produced By James Fitzpatrick
Courtesy of SILVA SCREEN RECORDS © 2011

Additional information

Weight 200 g


There are no reviews yet.

Be the first to review “Battle Beyond The Stars – Complete Score – Limited Edition – James Horner”

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More Info