Basic Instinct - 2 x CD Complete Score - Jerry Goldsmith

Sale price Price £44.95 Regular price Unit price  per 

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
For his second collaboration with director Paul Verhoeven (after Total Recall), Jerry Goldsmith composed one of his most famous and iconic scoresÑatmospheric and sensual, elegantly orchestrated, with a memorable main theme reminiscent of Bernard Herrmann.
At the time of the filmÕs premiere, Var�se Sarabande issued a fabulous 45-minutes CD produced by Goldsmith himselfÑa masterful presentation of the scoreÕs highlights. Ten years later, Prometheus Records released an expanded version, with much of the music presented in film order, but still missing a pivotal moment and several alternate takes. Now, 23 years later, Quartet Records has finally done justice to this Goldsmith masterpiece. This new release includes all of the music recorded for the film, with correct edits, actual track titles, ÒAn Unending StoryÓ as heard in the film, and alternate takes recorded by Goldsmith for the shorter R-rated version of the film. Also included is the original album produced by the composer, featuring some slightly shorter cues and an alternate ending. All of the music was recorded in London with Goldsmith conducting The National Philharmonic Orchestra.
Both film score and album version have been entirely remixed and remastered from the original digital multi-track tapes by original scoring mixer Bruce Botnick for this editionÑthe score has, quite simply, never sounded better! Produced by Neil S. Bulk and Bruce Botnick, the album includes in-depth liner notes from film music writer Daniel Schweiger in a lavishly designed 24-page full-color booklet.
Track Listing

01. Main Title / The First Victim (3:45)

02. Catherine and Roxy (5:17)

03. Shadows / Profile (1:30)

04. I DonÕt Smoke (2:48)

05. Crossed Legs (4:53)

06. Beth and Nick (2:24)

07. Night Life (6:04)

08. Home Visit (1:12)

09. Your Wife Knew (1:48)

10. WhatÕs Between You? (0:55)

11. One Shot (1:28)

12. Kitchen Help (4:02)

13. Pillow Talk (5:04)

14. Morning After (2:32)

15. Roxy Loses (3:39)

16. CatherineÕs Sorrow (2:44)

17. Wrong Name (2:24)

18. SheÕs Really Sick (1:33)

19. It WonÕt Sell (1:06)

20. The Games Are Over (5:53)

21. Evidence (1:44)

22. An Unending Story / End Titles (9:08)

Total Disc Time: 71:59


01. Main Title (Theme from Basic Instinct) (2:15)

02. Crossed Legs (4:53)

03. Night Life (6:04)

04. Kitchen Help (3:59)

05. Pillow Talk (5:01)

06. Morning After (2:31)

07. The Games Are Over (5:39)

08. CatherineÕs Sorrow (2:43)

09. Roxy Loses (3:18)

10. An Unending Story (7:58)

Bonus Tracks

11. The First Victim (R rated alternate) (1:37)

12. Beth and Nick (R rated alternate) (2:13)

13. Pillow Talk (R rated alternate) (4:51)

14. ThatÕs Real Music (0:27)

Total Disc Time: 53:34

Total Album Time: 125:33