Babe – Deluxe Expanded Edition – Limited 1500 – Nigel Westlake


3 in stock




Babe was a massive surprise hit in 1995. A children’s film starring a talking pig seemed to be the last thing anybody expected from visionary filmmaker George Miller (Mad Max), but writer-producer Miller, adapting a 1983 book with director and cowriter Chris Noonan, created a universally praised, moving film about a farm pig (a combination of animatronics and computer graphics) who longs to be a sheepdog. With a memorable lead performance by James Cromwell as Babe’s farmer-owner, Babe received glowing reviews and seven Oscar nominations, winning for Best Visual Effects.


A major part of Babe’s exquisite, perfectly pitched storybook tone is the charming, resonant symphonic score by Australian composer Nigel Westlake. Westlake interpolated a tapestry of classical works, most notably the maestoso section of Saint-Saëns’ third (Organ) symphony, to perfectly capture the human emotions of the film’s animal characters, while ironically treating the humans with an animal-like comedy and whimsy. (The Saint-Saëns melody had been adapted into the British reggae pop hit, “If I Had Words,” by Scott Fitzgerald & Yvonne Kelley; a sped-up version is used in Babe’s end credits.)


Babe was released as a music-and-dialogue album at the time of the film. This CD Club edition features the expanded score as music only, packaged with a new essay by Tim Greiving featuring insights from Miller, Noonan, Cromwell and Westlake.

Track Listing


1. Opening Titles (From the Motion Picture Babe) – Piggery (4:02)

2. Fairground (Extended Version) (3:16)

3. I Want My Mum / The Way Things Are (4:40)

4. Fly Would Never / Crime And Punishment (3:50)

5. Anorexic Duck Pizzicati (Extended Version) (3:21)

6. Repercussions / Into The Knackery (2:23)

7. Pig, Pig, Piggy / Mother And Son (2:28)

8. Pork Is A Nice Sweet Meat (3:26)

9. Christmas Morning (Extended Version) (5:08)

10. Separate The Chickens / Round Up (2:37)

11. Babe’s Round Up (Extended Version) (3:59)

12. Mad Dog Rex (1:14)

13. The Sheep Pig (Extended Version) (1:47)

14. Dog Tragedy (1:36)

15. Hoggett Shows Babe / Maa’s Death (2:58)

16. Home Pig / Hoggett With Gun (2:48)

17. Pig Of Destiny / Up To Trouble (3:29)

18. The Cat / What Are Pigs For (2:26)

19. Where’s Babe / Hoggett’s Song (3:23)

20. Babe In The Kitchen / Help For Babe (4:32)

21. Baa Ram Ewe / Rex On Truck (1:46)

22. The Gauntlet / Moment Of Truth (Extended Version) (1:45)

23. Finale – That’ll Do, Pig, That’ll Do (1:39)

24. If I Had Words (2:54)

25. Toreador Aria (Excerpt) (:22)

26. Pork Is A Nice Sweet Meat (With Vocals) (3:51)

27. Blue Moon (Excerpt) (:40)

28. Cantique de Jean Racine (Excerpt) (:41)

29. If I Had Words (Hoggett’s Song) (1:52)


Music Composed and Produced by Nigel Westlake

Performed by the Victorian Philharmonic Orchestra


Additional information




Record Label

Release Year




Special Attributes

This website uses cookies to ensure you get the best experience on our website. More Info