BSX Records

Assault On Precinct 13 / Dark Star - Complete Scores - Limited 1500 - John Carpenter

Sale price Price £16.95 Regular price Unit price  per 

Tax included. Shipping calculated at checkout.
DARK STAR and ASSAULT ON PRECINCT 13 directed by John Carpenter, helped to write the scripts and composed the music for both films. These early scores contain a number of musical devices, techniques and ideas that would begin to define the Carpenter sound familiar to fans of his subsequent films like HALLOWEEN and ESCAPE FROM NEW YORK. The new performances on this recording have been recreated from CarpenterÕs original tracks by pioneering electronic musician Alan Howarth. Subsequently a composer of many films on his own, Howarth, began working with Carpenter in 1981 on ESCAPE FROM NEW YORK, a relationship that continued through THEY LIVE in 1988 and thus Howarth came to understand CarpenterÕs style and technique intimately. When asked to reinterpret the music from DARK STAR and ASSAULT ON PRECINCT 13, as he had with previous recording of music from THE THING, Howarth brought with him that experience and understanding. As both scores were recorded originally in mono, this project also represented an opportunity to present the music in a new stereo recording.Alan Howarth, in addition to being a composer, is an accomplished sound designer and editor, having worked on films such as STAR TREK: THE MOTION PICTURE, POLTERGEIST, TOTAL RECALL, ARMY OF DARKNESS, BRAM STOKERÕS DRACULA, STARGATE and many others. He has been a frequent music collaborator with John Carpenter on his films beginning with ESCAPE FROM NEW YORK in 1980 and including HALLOWEEN II & III, CHRISTINE, BIG TROUBLE IN LITTLE CHINA, THEY LIVE and PRINCE OF DARKNESS and Alan has scored many films on his own, including THE LOST EMPIRE, RETRIBUTION, HALLOWEEN 4 & 5, THE DENTIST, HEADLESS, BOO! And, most recently, EVILUTION and BASEMENT JACK.

Track Listing
1. Assault On Precinct 13 (Main Title) 3:29
2. Napoleon Wilson 2:51
3. Street Thunder 1:57
4. Precinct 9, Division 13 3:03
5. Targets/Ice Cream Man On Edge 2:42
6. Wrong Flavor 2:07
7. Emergency Stop 0:57
8. Lawson's Revenge 1:04
9. Sanctuary? 1:06
10. Second Wave 3:19
11. The Windows! 2:04
12. Julie 2:01
13. Well's Flight 3:13
14. To The Basement 1:14
15. Walking Out 0:35
16. Assault On Precinct 13 5:39
17. Message From Earth/Dark Star 2:03
18. Doolittle's Solo 1:18
19. Pinback And The Mascot 8:48
20. Pinback Playback 0:45
21. Doolittle Depressed 1:12
22. Communication #1D35E1 1:59
23. Talby, Don't Bother Me 1:33
24. Doolittle Sees Powell 2:01
25. Talby And Doolittle 1:31
26. The Bomb Has Something To Say 0:37
27. Benson, Arizona* 2:32
* - Arranged and Produced by
Dominik Hauser
Music by John Carpenter
Lyrics by Bill Taylor
Total Time: 62:48
All Tracks ASCAP